Why You Should Step Away From that Hair Dye and Try Henna Instead

Listen, ladies (and gentleman): it’s time for you to step away from that salon coloring for good. And that store-bought box of shimmering auburn or whatever dye color you use.If you haven’t heard by now, traditional hair dyes may indeed create some beautiful colors for your head of hair, but it’s not doing any favors for your health. For years, I purposefully poured chemicals on top of my head and let them sit there for an hour at a time, simmering through my skin and burning at my scalp in the name of beauty. When I think about it now, I knew there was something wrong when I felt that burning sensation and felt the tingle in my eyes, nose, and throat from the pungent hair dye smell.Yet, that’s convention, and I liked the bright blondes and glossy browns I was left with as a result.But, even if we like the colors, the danger of conventional hair dye is real: according to the National Cancer Institute, “over 5,000 different chemicals are used in hair dye products, some of which are reported to be carcinogenic (cancer-causing) in animals.”Should we really be leaving potentially cancerous chemicals on our heads for hours at a time in the name of a hair shade?

More Here: Why You Should Step Away From that Hair Dye and Try Henna Instead | One Green Planet

Leave a Reply

